Hosting WPC

World Photographic Cup

The WPC was founded in 2013 as a cooperative effort by The Federation of European Photographers (FEP) and Professional Photographers of America (PPA), with a singular goal to unite photographers in a spirit of friendship and cooperation. A Governing Committee was created to conduct the ongoing affairs of the competition, also supported by UAPP (United Asian Professional Photography) and AIPP (Australian Institute of Professional Photography). The brotherhood and sisterhood of photography is a bond that transcends language, culture, and geography. That’s the foundation behind the World Photographic Cup, a one of a kind international team competition.

This year the World Photographic Cup is supported by 30 teams including; Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Columbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States of America and of course Australia.

The World Photographic Cup is a competition where a team of photographers represent their home country. Each country is allowed to enter one team.

Each team develops its own process for choosing images to enter; in Australia this year we looked at the highest scoring images after APPA and using the rules criteria of entry for each category selected images that would best represent the category and Australia.

Teams can enter up to three images in each of six categories:

• Portrait
• Wedding
• Commercial (including advertising, architecture, industrial, fashion)
• Illustrative/Digital art
• Reportage / Photojournalism
• Nature (Landscape / Wildlife)

Gold (1st), Silver (2nd), and Bronze (3rd) medals are awarded to the individual creator in each category.

Teams are awarded points based on the aggregate score of the top ten placements in all categories. The World Photographic Cup is awarded to the national team, which receives the highest score.

Team AUSTRALIA entered the World Photographic Cup in all editions since it’s beginning in 2014. Medals’ records: 2 gold medals, 3 silver medals, 2 bronze medals. Team Australia’s best ever record: 2nd place (2014).

This year representing Australia in the following categories will be:

Keren Dobia (2017 Professional Photographer of the Year)
Robyn Hills
Kristian Piccoli
James Simmons
Dan O’Day
Kelly Tunney
Angela Miller
Nick Rains
Angie Connell
Illustrative/Digital Art
Daniel Murphy
Lorraine MacGillivray
Henry Coughlin
Reportage/ Photojournalism
Christopher Ian
Andy Cheung
Selena Rollason
Ken Drake
Andrew Campbell
Yane Sotiroski

Entries are now being judged by a selection of judges from around the world, which closes on December 10, Australia’s nominated judge is Robyn Campbell. ALL FINALISTS and BEST OF TEAM will be announced at Imaging USA in Nashville TN on Monday 15th January (US Time) winners will be announced at the WPC Awards Ceremony at Sea World, Gold Coast, Queensland on May 5th, 2018 as part of AIPP’s Lenscape.

If you would like more information please contact Sue Lewis Team Australia captain,